Medinipur Assembly Elections 2016

Before 2011, Medinipur was a bastion of the CPM which had been wining the seat since 1967 save for 1977. However, as things stands today, Trinamool Congress is comfortably placed in the constituency. The party runs the Medinipur municipality which forms a part of the constituency. The Left front has not able to gain the confidence of the voters. BJP is also a force to reckon with. TMC has once reposed faith in its sitting MLA Mrigendra Nath Maiti who has been nominated to contest the 2016 elections.

Medinipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mrigendra Nath Maiti AITC Won
Santosh Rana CPI 73787
Tushar Mukherjee BJP 22567
Nota Nota 4060
Sova Das AMB 2171
Susanta Sahu SUCI(C) 2069
Sk. Ali Uddin Ali AJSU Party 1655

TMC’s Mrigendra Nath Maiti is the sitting legislator of Medinipur which was won by him in 2011 by defeating sitting Communist Party of India MLA Santosh Rana by a comfortable margin of 28220 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, while 103060 votes were polled by Mrigendra Nath Maiti, Santosh Rana secured 74840 votes. Subhajit Roy, who entered the contest on behalf of the BJP, was relegated to the third place with just 4,880 votes.

Santosh Rana was elected from the Medinipur (called Medinipur in English) in 2006.

Apart from Medinipur municipality, Dherua, Chandra, Tantigeria and Monidaha gram panchayats of Medinipur Sadar block are covered by Medinipur which also contains Garhmal, Bankibandh, Karnagarh, Shatpati and Kashijora gram panchayats of Salboni block.

Medinipur is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which created the parliamentary constituency of the same name.

In the 2011 assembly election to Medinipur, the constituency had a total electorate of 215287. Of them, 110284 were males and 105003 were female voters.

Medinipur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found