Mayureswar Assembly Elections 2016

CPM has an edge in Mayureswar thanks to the popularly of its four time MLA Dhiren Let who is known for his simplicity. Such is his impact on the voters that he was severely attacked by the suspected Trinamool activists so that he could be made to leave politics forever. A stronghold of the CPM since 1969, the party had managed to win the seat in 2011 despite the wave of paribortan (change).

Mayureswar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abhijit Roy AITC Won
Arup Bag CPM 50440
Locket Chatterjee BJP 35329
Nota Nota 3155
Sudip Mandal(Bapi) SP 1502
Sandip Roy IND 1275
Sushen Das BSP 962
Abul Kalam Azad WPI 864
Manick Mondal MPI 571
Uttam Kundu SUCI(C) 484

Mayureswar assembly seat is currently held by Ashok Kumar Ray of CPM. In 2011 he won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Jatil Mondal by 6520 votes in a triangular contest. While Ashok Kumar Ray polled 67478 votes, 60958 votes were polled in favour of the TMC nominee who was followed by BJP’s Dudh Kumar Mondal who got significant 31031 votes.

Earlier Mayureswar had elected Dhiren Let in 1982, 1987, 1991 and 1996. After his resignation from the seat following his election to the position of zilla parishad (district council) chief Bisnu Let of CPIM emerged victorious by defeating Arjun Saha of BJP, then backed by TMC, in a bye-election in 1998. Bisnu Let repeated the performance in 2001.

One of the 11 assembly constituencies located in the Birbhum district of West Bengal, Mayureswar was made an open seat before 2011 elections. Before that only candidates belonging to the scheduled castes were eligible to contest the seat. Forming part of the Bolpur Lok Sabha constituency, Mayureswar covers blocks of Mayureswar I and Mayureswar II.

In the 2011 election to Mayureswar, a total electorate of 182588 were eligible to vote. Of them, 94501 were male voters and 88087 were women.

Mayureswar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found