Maynaguri Assembly Elections 2016

Maynaguri assembly constituency was once a stronghold of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), one of the constituents of the Left Front that ruled Bengal for more than three decades at a stretch. If recent trends are taken into account, it seems that the Trinamool Congress (TMC) has made substantial inroads in the constituency. The RSP MLA Ananta Deb Adhikari, who was elected from the seat in 2011, was left with no option but to join the TMC bandwagon. The coming 2016 assembly election to Maynaguri will be a direct fight between TMC and RSP.

Maynaguri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ananta Deb Adhikari AITC Won
Chhaya Dey (Roy) RSP 65930
Biswajit Roy BJP 30742
Nota Nota 4368
Kausik Roy KPP(U) 3856
Amit Kumar Sarkar BSP 1818
Rupeswar Ray CPI(ML)(L) 1701
Binay Sarkar AMB 1476

Maynaguri is currently held by Trinamool Congress sitting MLA Ananta Deb Adhikari who won the seat in April 2014 in a bye-election by defeating Dinabandhu Roy (Palu) of RSP by a good margin of 31,790 2,667 votes. The bye-poll was necessitated due to his resignation as an RSP MLA to join TMC. Ananta Deb Adhikari was elected from the seat I 2011 on behalf of RSP. RSP had been winning the seat since 1977.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes, Maynaguri assembly constituency is twelve assembly constituencies located in the Jalpaiguri district of West Bengal and covers Maynaguri block.

Maynaguri is one of the assembly segments the combination of which creates the Jalpaiguri Lok Sabha seat. Situated in the tea belt of North Bengal, Maynaguri is also hotbed of the activities of Kamtapur Liberation Organisation, an insurgent group.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission in 2014, the Maynaguri assembly constituency has a total of 2,24,441 electors, out of whom 1,17,659 are male voters and 1,06,782 are women.

Maynaguri Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found