Mathabhanga Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress appears to have an edge in Mathabhanga assembly constituency. This can be gauged from its victory in the civic poll to the Mathabhanga Municipality which is a part of the constituency. However, the Left Front is also not far behind and the BJP emerging as a serious player in the constituency, the upcoming assembly contest makes an interesting watch.

Mathabhanga Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Binay Krishna Barman AITC Won
Khagen Chandra Barman CPM 64465
Sushil Barman BJP 31258
Nota Nota 1980
Kangsa Raj Barman KPP(U) 1759
Harekrishna Sarkar IND 1353
Piyari Mohon Barman IND 1120
Nayan Chand Barman AMB 1038
Manjula Roy SUCI(C) 1029

Mathabhanga assembly seat is currently held by Trinamool’s Binay Krishna Barman. In 2011 he wrested the seat from the CPM by defeating its sitting MLA Ananta Roy by 5324 votes. While Binay Krishna Barman, currently a minister in the Mamata government, polled 78249 votes, 72925 votes received by Ananta Roy who was distantly followed by BJP’s Sushil Barman who got 11,308 votes.

Earlier, Mathabhanga had elected former CPM minister Dinesh Chandra Dakua in 1967, 1977, 1982, 1987, 1991, 1996 and 2001. Dakua was denied ticket in 2006 in which Ananta Roy had emerged victorious by defeating his nearest BJP rival Hemchandra Burman who had unsuccessfully contested the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat in 2014.

One of nine assembly constituencies located in the Cooch Behar district of West Bengal, Mathabhanga is composed of Mathabhanga municipality, Mathabhanga II block and Hazrahat I, Hazrahat II and Pachagarh gram panchayats of Mathabhanga I block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Mathabhanga is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Cooch Behar parliamentary seat. The assembly constituency has an electorate of 216 744. Out of the total electors, 114104 voters are males and 102640 females.

Mathabhanga Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found