Maldaha Assembly Elections 2016

The forthcoming assembly election to Maldahaha in 2016 is all set to witness a keen contest between Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Left Front. BJP has also become a competitive force in the constituency. In the 2015 municipal election to the Old Maldaha Municipality which is a part of the Maldahaha assembly constituency. TMC, BJP and Left Front had won 10, 5 and 2 wards respectively. Though Maldaha is considered a bastion of Congress heavyweight Ghani Khan Chowdhury, Congress failed to win a single seat.

Maldaha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Bhupendra Nath Halder INC Won
Dulal Sarkar (Babla) AITC 54934
Gopal Chandra Saha BJP 29111
Swapan Sarkar JDP 2703
Nota Nota 2204
Pappu Chandra Barman BMP 1967
Madhumoy Sarkar IND 1944
Anirban Sarkar BSP 1378

Maldahaha is presently held by the Congress MLA Bhupendra Nath Halder who emerged victorious from the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Rahul Ranjan Das by a margin of 10755 votes in a bipolar contest.

While 68155 votes were polled by Bhupendra Nath Halder, the CPM nominee received 57400 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Kusum Roy who got 13,180 votes and lost his deposit.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Maldahaha assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Old Maldahah municipality and Old Maldaha block as well as Narhatta gram panchayat of English Bazar block, and Rishipur, Aiho and Sreerampur gram panchayats of Habibpur block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Maldahah is one of the seven assembly segments within the Maldahaha Uttar parliamentary constituency.

In the last assembly election to Maldahah in 2011, the constituency had a total electorate of 169551. Out of the total electors, 88712 were males and 80839 were females.

Maldaha Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found