Malatipur Assembly Elections 2016

RSP, a constituent of the Left Front, managed to win the newly created assembly segment of Malatipur due to dissidence in the opposition camps. Like other assembly constituencies in the Malda district, Malatipur also has a strong presence of the Congress. The upcoming assembly election to the seat can witness multi-cornered contest if the TMC and Congress decide to go to the polls separately which was not the case in 2011.

Malatipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Alberuni Zulkarnain INC Won
Abdur Rahim Boxi RSP 48043
Dr. Md. Moazzem Hossain AITC 39947
Saumitra Sarkar BJP 12941
Nota Nota 3306
Chaitanya Rabidas BSP 2059

Malatipur is currently held by Abdur Rahim Boxi who won the seat in 2011 on the ticket of Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) by defeating his nearest rival Al-Beruni by a simple margin of 6701 votes. In that election 54794 votes were polled in favour of Abdur Rahim Boxi, Al Beruni, who had entered the fray as a rebel candidate against the Trinamool Congressís Gautam Chakrabarty, secured 48093 votes and was followed by the latter, who was relegated to the third place with 15629 votes.

Malatipur is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Malda district of West Bengal. The constituency is composed of Chanchal-2 block and Peerganj, Maharajpur, Sreepur I and Sreepur II gram panchayats of Ratua -2 block.

Malatipur, which came into existence in 2008 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Maldaha Uttar Lok Sabha constituency currently held by Mausam Noor of the Congress. In the last assembly election to Malatipur in 2011, there were a total of 151848 eligible voters, out of whom 80063 were males and 71785 were females.

Malatipur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found