Mal Assembly Elections 2016

Though the CPM has been winning the Mal is also know as "Mal" assembly seat since 1977, its sitting MLA Bulu Chik Baraik joined Trinamul Congress in July 2015 giving TMC an edge in the constituency. However, going would not be easy for TMC because the party still lacks the support base among the tea workers. There will be multi-cornered contest among the candidates of four major parties viz, TMC, CPIM, Congress and BJP.

Mal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Bulu Chik Baraik AITC Won
Augustus Kerketta CPM 66415
Mahesh Bage BJP 29380
Nota Nota 4273
Anjali Malo BSP 4168
Jyotish Minj SUCI(C) 2553

Bulu Chik Baraik, who has joined Trinamool Congress after quitting the CPM, is the sitting MLA from Mal which he won on behalf of CPM in 2011 by defeating Hiraman Oraon of the Congress by a margin of 4216 votes. In that election, while 62037 votes were polled by Bulu Chik Baraik, the Congress nominee received 57821 votes and was followed by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Ganga Beck who got 21756 votes. Baliram Ekka of BJP was relegated to the fifth place with 5006 votes.

The CPM has been winning Mal since 1977. Its legislator had emerged victorious from the seat three successive terms from 1977. Jagannath Oraon of CPM was elected from the seat in 1991 and 1996. Somra Lakra claimed Mal in 2001 and 2006.

Located in the Dooars region of Jalpaiguri district, Mal assembly constituency comprises areas of Mal municipality and Mal block. In the last assembly election to this tribal dominated constituency in 2011, there were 182501 electors out of whom 95538 were men and 86963 were female voters.

Mal is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Jalpaiguri Lok Sabha constituency. Those belonging to scheduled tribes are eligible to contest the Mal assembly seat.

Mal Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found