Madhyamgram Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is in driver’s seat in Madhyamgram assembly constituency. Its Lok Sabha candidate from Barasat, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, had led from this assembly segment in 2014 parliamentary elections. In the 2015 election to Madhyamgram Municipality, which is a part of the Madhyamgram assembly constituency, TMC had emerged victorious. All this boils down to the dominance of the TMC in the constituency.

Madhyamgram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rathin Ghosh AITC Won
Tapas Majumder INC 74467
Himangshu Mondal BSP 17148
Nota Nota 2932
Debasish Mitra (Bapi) BJP 2886

Madhyamgram assembly constituency is currently represented by TMC’s Rathin Ghosh who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest Forward Bloc rival Ranjit Chowdhury by a margin of 34668 votes. In that election while 99841 votes were polled by Rathin Ghosh, the CPM member received 65173 votes and was followed by BJP’s Bijoy Banerjee who secured 5,350 votes.

Located the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Madhyamgram is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Barasat parliamentary constituency. Other six assembly segments in the Barasat parliamentary constituency are Habra, Ashoknagar, Rajarhat New Town, Bidhannagar, Barasat and Deganga. Barasat is currently held by TMC’s Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar who was elected from the seat in 2014.

Madhyamgram municipality as well as Kemia Khamarpara and Chandipur Rohanda gram panchayats of Barasat- 2 block are covered by Madhyamgram assembly constituency which also contains in its jurisdiction Paschim Khilkapur, Ichhapur Nilganj and Purba Khilkapur gram panchayats of Barasat- 1 block.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Madhyamgram, there was a total electorate of 1,97,211. Out of the total electors, 1,03,017 were males and 94,194 were females.

Madhyamgram Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found