Madarihat Assembly Elections 2016

A bastion of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Madarihat has been electing RSP MLAs since 1969. In the last general assembly polls in West Bengal in 2011, Madarihat was only assembly seat where BJP was the runner up. The party had contested 289 of the 294 assembly seats and forfeited as many as in 285.

Trinamool Congress did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress to which the seat was allotted. The BJP had secured lead from this assembly segment in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. In all likelihood Madarihat will be keenly contested assembly seat in the forthcoming 2016 assembly polls.

Madarihat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Manoj Tigga BJP Won
Padam Lama AITC 44951
Kumari Kujur RSP 29885
Nota Nota 5068
Padam Oraon JMM 3089
Sudhist Baraik SUCI(C) 2319

Currently represented in the state legislative assembly by Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) MLA Kumari Kujur, Madarihat had elected him in 2011 third time in a row when he defeated Manoj Tigga of BJP by 7909 votes in a quadrangular fight. Before Kumari Kujur, Sushil Kujur of RSP had won the seat successive four times from 1982.

Located in the newly created district of Alipurduar in West Bengal, Madarihat assembly constituency contains under its domain Binnaguri and Sakoyajhora I gram panchayats of Dhupguri block besides the Madarihat-Birpara block.

Madarihat is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Alipurduars Lok Sabha constituency. Those belonging to scheduled castes are eligible to contest the Madarihat assembly seat which lies in the tea belt of Doors.

In the last assembly election to Madarihat in 2011, there were 161332 electors out of whom 82272 were men and 79060 were female voters.

Madarihat Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found