Lalgola Assembly Elections 2016

It is advantage Congress in Lalgola. The dominance of the Congress in Lalgola can be gauged from the incredible fact that the party has never lost an election to this assembly constituency. The constituency is a fiefdom of Abu Hena who has been winning the seat since 1991. As things stand today, he does not have any challenger and in all possibility will claim the seat in upcoming assembly elections in 2016.

Lalgola Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abu Hena INC Won
Chand Mohammad AITC 46635
Amar Kumar Das BJP 9938
Md. Sahabuddin SDPI 3644
Nota Nota 1959
Bharat Biswas BSP 1563
Prasanta Sarkar SP 1463

Abu Hena, a former Congress minister in the Mamata Banerjee government, won Lalgola for the fifth time in a row in 2011 by defeating Yean Ali of the CPIM by 16184 votes. He is one of the 59 Muslim candidates who were elected to the legislative assembly of west Bengal.

Before him, his father Abdus Sattar, who was a cabinet minister in the Siddhartha Shankar Ray government in Wets Bengal, represented the seat from 1967 to 1991.

Lalgola is one of the seven assembly segments in Jangipur Lok Sabha constituency which had elected Abhijit Mukherjee of Congress in 2014. Lalgola, where 78% of the electorate comprises Muslims, has total electors of 161259, out of whom 83283 are male voters and 77976 are female voters.

One of the 294 assembly seats in West Bengal, Lalgola is located in the Murshidabad district of West Bengal and is composed of Kantanagar gram panchayat of Bhagabangola -1 block and Airmari Krishnapur, Bilbora Kopra, Bahadurpur, Dewansarai, Jasaitala, Lalgola, Kalmegha, Manikchak, Paikpara, Nashipur and Ramchandrapur gram panchayats of Lalgola block.

Lalgola Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found