Keshpur Assembly Elections 2016

This violence prone assembly constituency is under the control of the CPM which has been winning it since 1982 by huge margins. In spite of the wave of change in 2011, the seat gave a massive lead of 33842 votes to the party in the last assembly election. However, with the TMC at the helm of power in West Bengal, the CPM cadres who used to intimidate the TMC supporters are on the back foot. Their place has now been taken by the TMC activists. There is no place for BJP in Keshpur which has made its name as the killing fields of the political parties.

Keshpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
None of the Above None of the Above 3561

Currently held by Rameswar Doloi of the CPM, Keshpur had elected him second time in 2011 when he defeated the TMC nominee Rajani Kanta Doloi by 33842 votes. In the previous assembly elections in 2006 he had trounced Asis Pramanik of TMC by a huge margin of 66166 votes. His predecessor, Nanda Rani Dal, who represented the seat from 1991 to 2006, had won the seat by a whopping margin of 108113 votes in a one-sided affair. She was not nominated to contest the Keshpur seat in 2006.

CPM has been winning the seat since 1982.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Keshpur is a rural constituency and is formed by areas covered by Keshpur block.

Situated in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Keshpur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary constituency of Ghatal.

In the 2011 assembly election to Keshpur, 194487 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 101800 were male voters and 92687 were women.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found