Kakdwip Assembly Elections 2016

A keen contest between Trinamool Congress and the CPM is a distinct possibility in Kakdwip assembly constituency for the upcoming 2016 assembly elections. A stronghold of the CPM, Kakdwip had elected TMC in the last assembly elections in 2011. However, anti-incumbency and the alliance between Congress and Left Front can come to the rescue of the CPM.

Kakdwip Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Manturam Pakhira AITC Won
Rafik Uddin Molla INC 79831
Koushik Das BJP 6600
None of the Above None of the Above 1130
Parbati Bhunia BSP 960

Manturam Pakhira is the sitting TMC MLA of Kakdwip assembly seat which he won by defeating her nearest CPM rival Milan Bhattacharyya by a margin of 10503 votes in 2011. In that election, while Manturam Pakhira polled 84483 votes, the CPM nominee received 73980 votes and was followed by BJP’s Nirmal Kumar Das who got a mere 3329 votes.

Manturam Pakhira had also won the Kakdwip assembly seat in 2001 when he defeated CPM’s Ashok Giri who was elected in 1996 and 2006. Hrishikesh Maity of CPM had represented the seat from 1977 to 1996 in a trot. He was also elected in 1971.

One of the thirty-one assembly constituencies located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Kakdwip is formed by the areas covered by Kakdwip block as well as Narayanpur and Budhakhali gram panchayats of Namkhana block.

Kakdwip is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Mathurapur which is reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

In the 2011 assembly election to Kakdwip, the constituency had an electorate of180377. Of them, 94280 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 86097.

Kakdwip Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found