Joypur Assembly Elections 2016

A division of votes between Congress and Trinamool Congress may be beneficial for Forward Block, one of the constituents of the Left Front. In fact, it was due to presence of the rebel Congress candidate in 20111 that Forward Block was able to win the seat. The seat will witness a bipolar contest between TMC and Left Front in the forthcoming 2016 assembly elections in West Bengal.

Joypur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shaktipada Mahato AITC Won
Dhirendra Nath Mahato AIFB 75981
Shripati Mahato BJP 8201
None of the Above None of the Above 2838
Pitambar Tudu AMB 1752
Subhas Chandra Mahato AJSU Party 1576
Bhajahari Kumar SUCI(C) 1510
Padmalochan Kumar IND 1356
Santi Ram Mandi JMM 812

Currently, Joypur is represented in the Legislative Assembly by Forward Block whose member Dhirendra Nath Mahato won the seat by defeating his nearest Independent rival Shakti Pada Mahato by 10611 votes in a triangular contest. In that election, while Dhirendra Nath Mahato secured 62,060 votes, 51,449 votes were polled by Shakti Pada Mahato who entered the fray as a rebel candidate when the seat was allotted to the TMC under the alliance with Congress.

TMC candidate Kirton Chandra Mahato was relegated to the third place with 23,927 votes.

One of the nine assembly constituencies located in the Purulia district in West Bengal, Joypur is formed by the areas covered by blocks of Joypur and Jhalda-2 as well as Beldih, Arsha and Manikary gram panchayata of Arsha block.

Joypur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary constituency of Purulia. The Maoist hit constituency is mainly inhabited by rural population.

In the 2011 assembly election to Joypur, there was a total electorate of 189809. Of them, 97877 were males and 91932 were female voters.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found