Jaynagar Assembly Elections 2016

Also spelt Joynagar, Jaynagar has been a bastion of ultra-Left outfit Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) for decades. The party has been winning the seat since 1967 save for 1972 when the Congress candidate emerged victorious from the seat. In the last assembly elections, SUCI was in alliance with the Trinamool Congress. However, it has severed its relations with TMC now. Hence a division of votes looms large and it is anyone’s game in Jaynagar. However, SUCI remains the dominant force. In the 2015 election to Joynagar-Majilpur Municipality which is a party of the Jaynagar assembly constituency, while the Congress won 6 wards, TMC emerged victorious in 4 wards. SUCI and Left front won 2 and 1 each.

Jaynagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Biswanath Das AITC Won
Sujit Patwari INC 49531
Tarun Kanti Naskar SUCI(C) 39397
Utpal Kumar Mandal BJP 18055
None of the Above None of the Above 1548
Tarun Naskar IND 1417
Dilip Sardar IND 1257
Amulya Kumar Sardar BSP 841
Sankar Deb Mondal IND 718
Manabendra Nath Halder BMP 492
Taranga Mondal IND 431

Currently Jaynagar is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by SUCI’s Tarun Kanti Naskar who won the seat by defeating his nearest CPM rival Shyamali Halder by 26590 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011.

In that election, while Tarun Kanti Naskar polled 71566 votes, the CPM nominee got 44976 votes and was followed by Congress candidate Manoranjan Halder who secured 13,829 votes.

Utpal Kumar Mandal, who entered the fray on behalf of the BJP, was placed fourth with 9,694 votes. It is pertinent to note that SUCI was in alliance with the TMC in 2011, not with Congress which was TMC’s alliance partner at that time.

SUCI’s Debaprasad Sarkar had represented the Jaynagar from 1977 to 2011.

Located in the South – 24 Paraganas district of West Bengal, Jaynagar is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name.

Jaynagar Mazilpur municipality as well as Futigoda, Bele Durganagar, Gardoani, Mayda, Mayahauri, Sahajadapur gram panchayats Jaynagar- 2 block are covered by Jaynagar assembly constituency which also contains under its jurisdiction Baharu Kshetra, Hari Narayanpur, Dakshin Barasat, Rajapur Korabeg, Uttar Durgapur and Sripur gram panchayats of Jaynagar- 1 block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Jaynagar assembly seat has a total electorate of 174871 in 2011 election to the seat. Of them, 91890 were males and 82981 were female voters.

Jaynagar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found