Jangipur Assembly Elections 2016

Both the Left and Congress are evenly poised to win the Jangipur assembly seat in the coming assembly election in 2016. However, if TMC decides to go it alone, the Congress may find itself in a tricky situation and this can enhance the chances of the CPM, which, though, has not been able to recover from the losses suffered by it in the last assembly elections in 2011.

Jangipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Md. Sohrab INC 34863
Sudhan Kumar Das BJP 23240
None of the Above None of the Above 2853
M. A. Hannan WPI 1506
Mirza Nashiruddin SUCI(C) 948
Rukumuddin Sk IND 932
Mostafa Sk IND 679
Md Saifuddin Saikh SP 672
Md. Masudul Hoque IND 490
Khokan Sarkar IND 300

Presently, Jangipur is held by Mohammad Sohrab, the Congress Legislature party leader in West Bengal, who was elected from the seat in 2011 when he had polled 68,699 votes to defeat CPMs Purnima Bhattacharya by 6336 votes in a bipolar contest. Earlier Mohammad Sohrab has emerged victorious from Suti assembly constituency in 1969, 1971, 1977 and 1996 on behalf of the Congress.

Habibur Rahman of Congress has represented Jangipur from 1972 to 1991. He again won the seat in 1996. Abul Hasnat of Revolutionary Socialist Party has won Jangipur seat in 2001 and 2006. He unsuccessfully contested the Raghunathganj assembly seat in Murshidabad in 2011.

Sharing its border with Bangladesh, Jangipur assembly constituency is composed of Jangipur municipality, Raghunathganj -1 block and Bansabati and Ahiran gram panchayats of Suti -1 block.

The Muslim dominated constituency of Jangipur is one of the seven assembly segments in the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name in West Bengal. Jangipur is located in Murshidabad district.

Jangipur has an electorate of 171691, out of whom 89640 are men and 82051 are female voters.

Jangipur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found