Jangipara Assembly Elections 2016

The minority community, whose support was lost by the CPIM in 2011, will play a crucial role in the outcome of the forthcoming assembly election to Jangipara currently held by TMC. Once a strongholds of CPIM Jangipara will witness a keen contest between the TMC and CPM. BJP has certain pockets of influence that may not be enough to make it a serious contender for the seat.

Jangipara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Snehasis Chakraborty AITC Won
Pobitra Singha Roy CPM 75719
Prosenjit Bag BJP 13716
None of the Above None of the Above 2826
Khandakar Kamrujjaman IUL 2516
Kaushik Kisore Roy IND 1414

Snehasis Chakraborty is the sitting MLA from Jangipara which he won on behalf of TMC in 2011 by defeating CPM candidate and then sitting MLA Sudarsan Raychaudhuri by a convincing margin of 13076 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, while 87133 votes were polled in favour of Snehasis Chakraborty, Sudarsan Raychaudhuri received votes and was followed by BJP’s Prasenjit Bag who secured 5,663 votes.

Muslim-dominated Jangipara is one of the eighteen assembly segments located in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. The constituency contains in its domain the block of Jangipara as well as Haripur, Ainya, Masat and Shiyakhala gram panchayata of Chanditala- 1 bloc.

Jangipara is one of the seven assembly seats that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Sreerampur which is currently held by TMC‘s Kalyan Banerjee which he won in 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Jagatballavpur, Domjur, Uttarpara, Sreerampur, Champdani and Chanditala are the other six.

In the last assembly election to Jangipara in 2011, 203459 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 106598 were males and 96861 were female voters.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found