Jamuria Assembly Elections 2016

A citadel of the Left, Jamuria is one of the 42 seats won by the CPIM in 2011. Being an industrial area, the constituency is the fertile ground for trade union activities. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the CPIM candidate Bansa Gopal Chowdhury had led by over 5,000 votes from this assembly constituency. This is interesting because the Left parties in the state were in a state of decline after the historic win of TMC in 2011. The CPM is also attracting the minority voters who had earlier deserted the party. On the other hand, TMC is plagued by infighting in this constituency. There has been the rise in the fortunes of the BJP in the constituency after the 2014. So in probability there will be multi-cornered contest for the Jamuria seat in the forthcoming assembly elections.

Jamuria Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Jahanara Khan CPM Won
V. Sivadasan (Dasu) AITC 59457
Santosh Singh BJP 22040
None of the Above None of the Above 3018
Kripamay Das IND 2051
Pradip Ruidas BMP 1513

CPIM has been winning the Jamuria since 1977. In 2011, Jahanara Khan emerged victorious by defeating her nearest Trinamool Congress rival Prabhat Chatterjee by a margin of 13873 votes. Bikash Chowdhury who was later elected to the Lok Sabha from Asansol four times, had represented the Jamuria assembly seat for successive four terms from 1977.

One of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Asansol, Jamuria in the Bardhamman district of West Bengal covers Jamuria municipality, Jamuria block, and Ratibati gram panchayat of Raniganj block. In 2011 general assembly elections, 175316 people were eligible to vote in this assembly constituency. Out of these 96789 were male voters and 78527 were female electorates.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found