Jamalpur Assembly Elections 2016

In Jamalpur, which was once a citadel of the left Front, Trinamool Congress has made its presence forcefully felt. The latter began making inroads in the constituency from 2010. The CPM has been losing ground since then. As far as the coming assembly elections are concerned, both the parties will slug it out in a fiercely fought contest. TMC has the edge but can ill-afford to be complacent.

Jamalpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Samar Hazra CPM Won
Ujjal Pramanick AITC 84068
Pallab Kumar Roy BJP 15094
None of the Above None of the Above 2616
Bankim Santra BSP 1902
Kishore Kumar Biswas JDP 1424
Sanat Bhangi IND 1391

Jamalpur is presently held by Trinamool Congress whose candidate Ujjal Pramanick emerged victorious from this seat in 2011 by defeating the then sitting CPIM MLA Samar Hazra by just 2543 votes in a bipolar contest. While Ujjal Pramanick polled 84434 votes, 81891 votes were polled in favour of Samar Hazra who was distantly followed by BJP’s Subrata Mallick who managed to get just 3,102 votes.

Earlier, Samar Hazra has won the Jamalpur seat in 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006. He belongs to Marxist Forward Bloc, a constituent of the Left Front.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Jamalpur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Jamalpur block and Mugura gram panchayat of Raina -1 block.

One of the twenty five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, the rurural constituency of Jamalpur is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bardhaman Purba parliamentary constituency.

Of a total number of 188058 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Jamalpur, there were 98141 males and 89917 females.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found