Jagatdal Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is on a firm footing in Jagatdal assembly constituency. This is attested by the fact the party led from the assembly constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. In the coming assembly election to Jagatdal, the opposition parties would be trying to increase their vote shares.

Jagatdal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Parash Dutta AITC Won
Haripada Biswas AIFB 49667
Arun Kumar Brahma BJP 30575
None of the Above None of the Above 2608
Sheo Prasad Tiwari IND 1731
Amal Sen SUCI(C) 1439
Vikash Kumar Shaw IND 1393
Swapan Das IND 1336

TMC’s Parash Dutta is the sitting legislator of Jagatdal which was won by him in 2011 by defeating the sitting Forward Block MLA Haripada Biswas by a huge margin of 36032 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election while 86388 votes were polled by Parash Dutta, Haripada Biswas secured just 43,392 votes. Dilip Mitra, who entered the fray on behalf of the BJP, was relegated to distant third with just 4,276 votes.

Forward Block is one of the constituents of the Left Front.

Jagatdal is located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal. The assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the municipality of Bhatpara as well as Kogachi I, Mamudpur, Kogachi II, Panpur Keutia gram panchayats of Barrackpore- 1 block.

Jagatdal is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Barrackpore which is currently represented by TMC MP and former Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi. Other six assembly segments in the Barrackpore Lok Sabha seat are Bijpur, Bhatpara, Noapara, Naihati, Barrackpore and Amdanga.

In the 2011 assembly election to Jagatdal, the constituency had an electorate of 172874. Of them, 93386 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 79488.

Jagatdal Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found