Itahar Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is on a strong wicket in Itahar. Even if the party does not form an alliance with the Congress, TMC enjoys the edge. In the last assembly polls in 2011, in spite of the presence of a Congress rebel candidate in the fray, TMC was able to win the seat comfortably.

Itahar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Amal Acharjee AITC Won
Srikumar Mukherjee CPI 69387
Yunish Hoque BJP 7126
None of the Above None of the Above 1743
Hopna Murmu JDP 1576
Jainal Abedin BSP 1008

Amal Acharya is the sitting TMC legislator from Itahar which he wrested from the Communist Party of India (CPI) by defeating its then sitting MLA Srikumar Mukherjee by 7052 votes in 2011. In that election, while Amal Acharya, who switched to TMC from Congress just before the elections, polled 61707 votes, the three -term CPI MLA Srikumar Mukherjee received 54,655 votes and was followed by Independent candidate Rakbul Baksh who had the support of Congress leader Deepa Munshi, a bÍte noir of Mamata Banerjee.

Earlier, Itahar was a pocket borough of Zainal Abedin had won the seat on behalf of Congress seven times in a row from 1962. He had also claimed the seat in 1991. In 2001 he was denied ticket by the Congress and consequently entered the contest as a nominee of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Srikumar Mukherjee was elected in 1996, 2001 and 2006.

One of the nine assembly constituencies in Uttar Dinajpur district, Itahar has a sizable population of Muslims. Composed of Itahar block, the constituency is one of seven constituencies that comprise of the parliamentary constituency of Balurghat, presently represented by Arpita Ghosh of TMC. Itahar has a total of 1,92,438 electors, out of whom 1,00,764 are male voters and 91,672 are female voters.

Itahar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found