Indus Assembly Elections 2016

Indus has been electing the CPIM member since 1977 barring the last assembly election. Since the party lost the seat by not so high margin in 2011 and of late the party has been in resurgent mode, the coming election to the seat will witness a keen contest between Trinamool Congress (TMC) and CPIM. The BJP has emerged as a force to reckon with. If the Congress, which went to the 2011 assembly in alliance with the TMC, throws it hat in the ring, there will be a multi-cornered contest. The party which will have Congress as its alliance partner will have an edge here.

Indus Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Gurupada Mete AITC Won
Dilip Kumar Malik CPM 76103
Nirmal Kumar Dhara BJP 16246
Basudeb Diger IND 3837
None of the Above None of the Above 3670
Bhairab Lohar BSP 2409

Indus is currently represented by Gurupada Mete of the TMC. He had wrested the seat by polling trouncing his nearest rival Santanu Kumar Bora of CPIM by a simple margin of 4005 votes in bipolar fight in 2011. Apart from these two the only other candidate to contest the seat, Srikanta Bagdi of the BJP came a distant third and forfeited his deposit.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled caste, Indus is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Bankura district of West Bengal. The constituency covers Indus block, Madanmohanpur and Laugram gram panchayats of Kotulpur block and Balsi I, Balsi II, Biur Betur, Kushdwip and Jamkuri gram panchayats of Patrasayer block.

One of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Bishnupur Lok Sabha seat, Indus had a total electorate of 188746 in 2011. Of them, 98909 were males and the rest were female voters whose number stood at 89837.

Indus Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found