Howrah Madhya Assembly Elections 2016

Howrah Central continues to be a stronghold of the Trinammol Congress. CPM had never been able to make much of headway in the constituency even in its heydays. Of late, BJP has emerged as a force to reckon with. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the party’s candidate from Howrah parliamentary seat had secured 45,611 votes in Howrah Madhya, a sharp rise from 6,223 votes the party polled in 2011.

Howrah Madhya Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Arup Roy (Apu) AITC Won
Amitabha Dutta JD(U) 38806
Sanjay Singh BJP 35691
None of the Above None of the Above 4135
Soumitra Sengupta SUCI(C) 1326
Jawahar Lal Pasi BSP 1132

Currently represented by the TMC legislator Aroop Roy, Howrah Madhya was won by him in 2011 by defeating the sitting CPM MLA Arup Ray by a whopping margin of 50670 votes. While 103184 votes were polled in favour of Aroop Roy, Arup Ray received 52514 votes and was followed by BJP’s Mousumi Biswas who got 6,223 votes.

Ambica Banerjee had represented the seat from 1982 to 2006. While his wins in 1982, 1987, 1991 and 1996 came on behalf of the Congress, he was elected in 2001 as a TMC member. He lost to Arup Ray in 2006.

One of the sixteen assembly constituency located in the Howrah district of West Bengal, Howrah Madhya is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos. 17-20, 24- 34, 36, 37 and 42 of Howrah municipal corporation (HMC).

The urban constituency of Howrah Madhya is one of the seven assembly segments within the Howrah Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Howrah Madhya, a total electorate of 224536 was eligible to exercise their franchise. Of them, 123585 were males and 100951were female voters.

Howrah Madhya Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found