Hingalganj Assembly Elections 2016

The Left parties have never lost an election in the Hingalganj assembly constituency. Despite the strong wave of change in 2011, the Left front was able to win the seat, albeit by a reduced margin. An alliance with the Congress may stand the Left in good stead. However, the prospects of BJP cutting into their votes are scaring both TMC and the Left.

Hingalganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Debes Mandal AITC Won
Anandamay Mandal CPI 64449
Labanya Mondal BJP 14327
Gayen Ranjit IND 1921
None of the Above None of the Above 1854
Nitish Kumar Biswas BSP 1467

Currently held by Anandamoy Mondal, Hingalganj assembly seat had elected him in 2011 on behalf of CPI. Hingalganj is one of the two seats won by the CPI in 2011. Dantan is the other one.

In 2011, while Anandamoy Mondal polled 72,741 votes, his nearest rival and TMC candidate Debesh Mondal received 71726 votes. Ratikanta Baulia of the BJP was distantly placed at third with 7,533 votes and forfeited his deposit.

Earlier CPM had represented the Hingalganj assembly seat from 1977 to 2011.

One of the thirty-four assembly constituencies located in the North-24 Parganas district in West Bengal, Hingalganj is constituted by the areas covered by Hingalganj block as well as Bhabanipur I, Barunhat Rameshwarpur, Bhabanipur II, Patli Khanpur and Hasnabad gram panchayats of Hasnabad block. In addition, Khulna gram panchayat of Sandeshkhali- 2 block is also included in the Hingalganj assembly constituency.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Hingalganj is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling within the Basirhat parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Hingalganj, the constituency had a total electorate of 185015. Of them, 96588 were males and 88427 were female voters.

Hingalganj Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found