Hemtabad Assembly Elections 2016

A division of votes between Congress and Trinamool Congress may stand in good stead for CPIM which, though, is in a state a decline in the Hemtabad constituency. It was due to presence of the rebel Congress candidate in 2001 that CPM was able to win the seat.

Hemtabad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Debendra Nath Roy CPM Won
Sabita Kshetry AITC 67283
Bhanu Ram Barman BJP 40795
None of the Above None of the Above 2437
Alakesh Barman BSP 2065
Jyotirmay Barman SUCI(C) 2048
Beshila Barman IND 1459
Kanai Lal Biswas IND 1230

Hemtabad is currently represented in the Legislative Assembly by CPIM whose candidate Khagendra Nath Sinha won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival Sekhar Chandra Roy of Trinamool Congress. In the only election to the seat, while 71,553 votes were polled in favour of Khagendra Nath Sinha, the TMC candidate received 35,849 and was followed by Independent candidate Chitta Ranjan Ray who got 30,923 votes.

Chitta Ranjan Ray, then sitting Congress MLA of Raiganj, was backed by Congress leader Deepa Munshi, a bÍte noir of Mamata Banerjee. He entered the fray as an independent because under the seat sharing alliance, the constituency was allocated to the TMC.

One of the 9 assembly constituencies located in the Uttar Dinajpur district of West Bengal, Hemtabad is reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. The constituency is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Raiganj parliamentary constituency. Hemtabad, which came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is composed of Hemtabad block and Bindol, Bhatun, Jagadishpur, Sherpur, Mahipur, Rampur and Sitgram gram panchayats of Raiganj block.

According to figures released by Election Commission of India in 2014, Hemtabad has a total electorate of2 14,517. Of them, 1 13,403 were male voters and 1, 01,112 were women.

Hemtabad Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found