Harischandrapur Assembly Elections 2016

The upcoming assembly election to Harischandrapur in 2016 is all set to witness a direct contest between Forward Bloc, one of the constituents of the Left Front, and the Congress which had claimed eight seats in 2011 in Malda district in which the constituency is located. The Congress, which has been traditionally a dominant force in Harischandrapur, may find it difficult if it does not form an alliance with the TMC. In such a scenario, there would be a multi-cornered contest making the BJP also a serious player.

Harischandrapur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Alam Mostaque INC Won
Tajmul Hossain AITC 42190
Alam Md. Rafiqul AIFB 35075
Sanvarlal Kedia BJP 25889
Efrajul Hoque BSP 3460
None of the Above None of the Above 1746
Jogen Hasda JMM 1042
Musaraf Hossain SUCI(C) 730

Currently represented in the legislative assembly by Tajmul Hossain of the Forward Block, Harischandrapur had elected him in 2011 for the second time. In that election, he trounced his nearest Congress rival Mostaque Alam by 2441 votes in a keenly contested poll.

While Tajmul Hossain received 62019 votes, Mostaque Alam, the winner of the seat in 2001, polled 59578 votes and was followed by Rina Saha of the BJP with just 6033 votes in her kitty. Trinamool Congress did not field its candidate because it was in alliance with the Congress.

One of the seven assembly segments falling under Maldaha Uttar Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, Harischandrapur is composed of Harischandrapur-2 block and Bhingole, Mahendrapur and Harischandrapur gram panchayats of Harischandrapur-1 block. Harischandrapur earlier formed part of the Raiganj parliamentary constituency.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Malda district, Harischandrapur had a total number of 160562 electors who were eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly poll to the seat. Of them, 85341 were males and 75221 were females.

Harischandrapur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found