Haripal Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress’s dominance is still intact in Haripal assembly constituency where the protest against the Tata’s Nano project gained momentum thanks to its proximity to the Singur where the project was to be set up. The CPM has not been able to gain the confidence of the voters who reacted against the forceful acquisition of land by the then left Front government.

Haripal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Becharam Manna AITC Won
Jogiyananda Mishra CPM 79424
Ramkrishna Pal BJP 11124
None of the Above None of the Above 3526
Sk. Rafiuddarajat (Badsha) SUCI(C) 1814
Sukumar Mandi JDP 829
L.K. Sing IUL 782

Becharam Manna, who entered the fray on behalf of TMC, is the sitting MLA from Haripal which he won by defeating his nearest rival and then sitting CPM MLA Bharati Mukherjee by 22073 votes in 2011. While Becharam Manna, convener of Krishi Jami Raksha Samiti, a group protesting the acquisition of the agricultural land, polled 98146 votes, Bharati Mukherjee received 76073 votes and was followed by BJP’s Partha Banerjee who got 4,175 votes.

Prior to that Bharati Mukherjee had won the seat in 2006. Kali Krasad Biswas of CPM had represented the constituency from 1991 to 2006.

One of eighteen assembly segments in the Hooghly district of West Bengal, Haripal is constituted by the areas covered by blocks of Haripal, Balarambati and Basubati as well as Daluigachha and Kamarkundu Gopalnagargram panchayats of Singur block.

Haripal is one of the assembly segments the combination of which creates the Arambagh Lok Sabha seat. Tarakeswar, Pursurah, Arambag, Goghat, Khanakul and Chandrakona are the other six. Haripal earlier formed part of the Hooghly Lok Sabha seat.

In 2011 assembly election to Haripal, the constituency had 214029 voters, out of whom 113400 were males and 100629 are females.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found