Haringhata Assembly Elections 2016

Once a stronghold of the CPM, Haringhata is now become a stronghold of the Trinamool Congress (TMC). The Left parties, of which CPM is the major constituent, are in a state of decline after the historic win of TMC in 2011 in the state. However, in recent times there have been talks of their resurgence which, though, will not be able to check the TMC. Same is the case with the BJP which has gained handsomely in the 2014 LS polls. The party, however, has failed to cash in on the gains which can be gauged from its performance in the recently civic polls in the state.

Haringhata Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nilima Nag (Mallick) AITC Won
Ajoy Das CPM 73181
Suresh Sikdar BJP 15793
None of the Above None of the Above 1953
Jagadish Chandra Halder SHS 1910
Bidyut Mallick BSP 1588
Madhab Biswas PDS 1570
Probodh Kumar Sarkar SUCI(C) 834

Nilima Nag is the sitting MLA of Haringhata which was won by her on behalf of TMC in 2011. In that election, she had defeated Biswajit Paul of the CPIM by a comfortable margin of 13003 votes.

Haringhata, which became a reserved seat for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes before 2011 general assembly elections, is one of the seven assembly segments under the Bangoan Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal. Haringhata was earlier part of the erstwhile Nabadwip Lok Sabha. All the seven assembly segments in the Bangoan parliamentary seat are reserved for the contestants belonging to scheduled castes.

One of the seventeen assembly constituencies in the Nadia district, Haringhata includes in its domain the block of Haringhata as well as Hingara and Dewli gram panchayats of Chakdaha block.

In the last assembly election to the Haringhata seat, 187807 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 99421 were males and 88386 were female voters.

Haringhata Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found