Habra Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress has consolidated its supremacy in the Habra assembly constituency and is well placed to win the seat in the coming 2016 assembly elections. An alliance with the Congress has also given CPM a boost. The BJP is not in a position to make the contest a triangular one.

Habra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Jyoti Priya Mallick AITC Won
Ashis Kantha Mukherjee CPM 55643
Govindo Das BJP 22967
None of the Above None of the Above 2055
Tushar Ghosh SUCI(C) 2033
Kamalendu Bala BSP 1359
Mritunjay Mallik RPI(A) 723
Ajoy Dey IND 686

Habra assembly constituency is currently represented by TMC’s Jyotipriya Mallick who won the seat in 2011 by defeating sitting CPM MLA Pranab Bhattacharya by a margin of 25392 votes. In that election while 86218 votes were polled by Jyotipriya Mallick, a minister in the Mamata government, Pranab Bhattacharya received 60826 votes and was followed by BJP’s Utpal Kumar Paul who secured 5,543 votes.

Before 2011, CPM had been winning the seat since 1977. While Nirode Roy Choudhury represented the seat from 1977 to 1987, Kamal Sengupta (Bose) won in 1987 and 1991. Baren Basu and Tapati Dutta were elected from the seat 2001 and 2006 respectively.

Located the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Habra is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Barasat parliamentary constituency. Other six assembly segments in the Barasat parliamentary constituency are Ashoknagar, Rajarhat New Town, Bidhannagar, Madhyamgram, Barasat and Deganga.

Habra municipality is covered by Harbra assembly constituency which also contains Kumra, Rautara, Pritibha and Machhalandpur-2 gram panchayats of Habra-1 block.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Habra, there was a total electorate of 180458. Out of the total electors, 92682 were males and 87776 were females.

Habra Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found