Habibpur Assembly Elections 2016

A stronghold of CPIM, Habibpur has been won by the party since 1977. In 2011 this assembly constituency one of the three seats contested by the TMC in the Malda district. Other seats in the district were allotted to the Congress under the seat sharing arrangement between the two parties. The BJP has a major presence in Habibpur to decide result. In the last assembly election to Habibpur, a section of the Congress had worked against the TMC.

Habibpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Khagen Murmu CPM Won
Amal Kisku AITC 61583
Prodip Baskey BJP 41656
None of the Above None of the Above 3755
Lakshiram Baske SP 2918
Pradeep Murmu BSP 2780
Mandal Soren IND 2757
Subin Hansda BMP 2510
Shibananda Saren SUCI(C) 748
Mandal Mardi IND 431

Habibpur is currently represented by Khagen Murmu of the Communist Party of India (Marxists). Khagen Murmu, who had unsuccessfully contested the Maldaha Uttar Lok Sabha seat in 2014, retained Habibpur by defeating his nearest Trinamool Congress rival Mohan Tudu by just 2258 votes in bipolar fight in 2011. While Khagen Murmu and Mohan Tudu polled 58802 and 56843 votes respectively, Krishna Chandra Munda of the BJP came third with 31638 votes.

Khagen Murmu was also elected from the Habibpur assembly constituency in 2006.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled caste, Habibpur is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Malda district of West Bengal. The constituency is composed of Bamangola block and Aktail, Bulbul Baidyapur, Dhumpur, Chandi, Habibpur, Kanturka, Jajail and Mangalpur gram panchayats of Habibpur block.

One of the seven assembly segments that combine to form the Maldaha Uttar parliamentary constituency, the tribal-dominated Habibpur had a total electorate of 187000 people who were eligible to vote in 2011. Of them, 96344 were males and 90656 were female voters.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found