Gosaba Assembly Elections 2016

Once a bastion of the Revolutionary Socialist Party, a constituent of the Left Front, Gosaba is all set to witness a keen contest between Left Front and Trinamool Congress which had wrested the seat from the former in 2011. However, rivalry between RSP and CPM, both constituents of the Left Front, can be beneficial for the TMC. The BJP is not a force to reckon with in Gosaba assembly constituency.

Gosaba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Jayanta Naskar AITC Won
Uttam Kumar Saha RSP 71045
Sanjoy Kr. Nayek BJP 11504
None of the Above None of the Above 3109
Dilip Mondal SUCI(C) 1050
Dinabandhu Mandal LJP 977
Haripada Mandal BSP 776
Tushar Kanti Mondal MPI 401

Currently Gosaba is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC's Jayanta Naskar who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest RSP rival Samarendra Nath Mondal by a margin of 10682votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, while Jayanta Naskar polled 78840 votes, the RSP nominee secured 68158 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Sukumar Mondal who got 4,074 votes.

RSP’s Ganesh Chandra Mondal had represented the Gosaba seat from 1977 to 2006. The seat was won by Chittaranjan Mandal of RSP in 2006.

Situated in the Sundarbans area of West Bengal, Gosaba is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Jaynagar.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Gosaba is located in the South – 24 Paraganas district. This predominantly rural constituency is formed by the areas covered by Gosaba block as well as Chunakhali and Maszidbati gram panchayats of Basanti block.

In the last assembly election to the Gosaba seat, 180768 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 93673 were males and 87095 were female voters.

Gosaba Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found