Ghatal Assembly Elections 2016

Talking to the voters makes it amply clear that Trinamool Congress is in complete control in the Ghatal assembly constituency. The party had secured lead from this assembly segment in 2014. Added to this, Ghatal Municipality, which forms part of the constituency, was won by TMC in 2014. However, there is an undercurrent of disenchantment against the TMC and this may be the pain point of the party to some extent in the coming assembly elections. BJP is not in a position to put up a fight.

Ghatal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shankar Dolai AITC Won
Kamal Chandra Dolui CPM 88203
Anjushree Dolui BJP 10468
Tanmoy Dolui IND 5164
Anjan Jana SUCI(C) 2564
None of the Above None of the Above 2290

Ghatal assembly seat is currently held by the TMC MLA Shankar Dolai who wrested it from the CPM by defeating its nominee Chhabi Pakhira by a comfortable margin of 16277 votes in 2011.

Barring 2011, the CPIM had won all the assembly elections to Ghatal since 1977. While Ratan Pakhira represented the seat from 1987 to 2011, Gopal Mandal was elected in 1977 and 1982.

Ghatal, which has a mix of urban and rural population, is formed by the areas covered by municipalities of Ghatal and Ghatal Kharar as well as Ghatal block and Sarberia I, Rajnagar and Sarberia II gram panchayats of Daspur- 1 block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Ghatal is located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal. It is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary constituency of the same name.

In the 2011 assembly election to Ghatal, 224916 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 117228 were male voters and 107688 were women.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found