Gangarampur Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2015 election to Gangarampur Municipality, a part of the Gangarampur assembly constituency, the Trinamool Congress has wrested the municipal body from the Left Front. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections too, the TMC had led in all the seventeen wards. Once a stronghold of the Left, , the coming assembly election to Gangarampur will witness the direct contest between the Left Front and the TMC. The Congress and the BJP will play as catch-up.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Goutam Das INC Won
Satyendra Nath Roy AITC 69668
Sanatan Karmakar BJP 17604
None of the Above None of the Above 2432
Jatindra Nath Barman BSP 1486
Sukla Bhuimali CPI(ML)R 1068
Bimal Chandra Barman IND 719

Gangarampur assembly seat is presently held by Satyendra Nath Roy who wrested the seat from CPM in 2011 by defeating its candidate Nandalal Hazra by a narrow margin of 668 votes. While 65666 votes were received by Satyendra Nath Roy, the CPM nominee got 64998 votes and was followed by BJP’s Dipankar Roy who received only votes.

Earlier Minati Ghosh, a minister in the Jyoti Basu led Left Front government, emerged victorious in 1987, 1991 and 1996.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Dakshin Dinajpur district in West Bengal, Gangarampur is constituted by areas covered by Gangarampur municipality, Damdama, Belbari I, Nandanpur and Gangarampur gram panchayats of Gangrampur block. Autina, Ajmatpur, Gurail, Ramchandrapur, Hazratpur and Rampara Chenchra gram panchayats of Tapan block are also included in the Gangarampur assembly constituency.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Gangarampur is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Balurghat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Gangarampur, 159575 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 84265 were male voters and 75310 were women.

Gangarampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found