Farakka Assembly Elections 2016

The Congress which is traditionally strong in Murshidabad district has an edge in Farakka. However, Congressís dominance will not go unchallenged. It may find itself on a weak wicket if it does not have the backing of the Trinamool Congress. Rise of BJP may decide the fortunes. In fact, the BJP candidate Bishnupada Roy had emerged runner-up in the 2014 LS poll to Maldaha Dakshin parliamentary constituency of which Farakka is a part.

Farakka Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mainul Haque INC Won
Md. Mustafa AITC 55147
Indranath Upadhyay BJP 15952
Dr. Rejaul Karim WPI 4022
Alam Khairul BSP 1909
None of the Above None of the Above 1840
Mir Mainul Haque IND 1014

Farakka is currently held by the Congress whose candidate Mainul Haque who won it successive fourth term in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Abdus Salam by 4739 votes. While 52,780 votes were polled in favour of Mainul Haque, the CPM candidate received 48,041 votes and was followed by BJPís Hemanta Ghosh who got 26,696 votes.

Earlier seasoned CPM Abul Hasnat Khan had represented the Farakka assembly constituency from 1977 to 1996. He had also won the Jangipur parliamentary seat in 1998 and 1999.

One of the twenty two assembly constituencies located in the Murshidabad district of West Bengal, Farakka is composed of Farakka block, and Kanchantala and Gajinagar Malancha gram panchayats of Samserganj block.

Though located in Murshidabad district, Farakka is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Maldaha Dakshin parliamentary constituency which had elected Abu Hasem Khan Choudhury of the Congress in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Farakka was earlier part of Jangipur Lok Sabha seat.

Of a total number of 153081 electorate eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Farakka, there were 78649 males and 74432 were females.

Farakka Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found