Durgapur Purba Assembly Elections 2016

Once a stronghold of the CPM, Durgapur Purba is now firmly with Trinamool Congress. The support base of CPM is in a state of decline since the party lost the seat in 2011. Though voters are disenchanted with the TMC, the opposition is not in a position to take advantage. BJP has influence in some pockets of the constituency is not a competitive player here.

Durgapur Purba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Santosh Debray CPM Won
Pradip Mazumdar AITC 75069
Akhil Mondal BJP 23302
None of the Above None of the Above 3680
Asit Baran Mondal SUCI(C) 1676
Sukamal Saha IND 1354
Aniruddha Chatterjee IND 1138

Currently Durgapur Purba is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC’s Nikhil Banerjee who won the seat in 2011 by defeating CPM’s Alpana Chowdhury by a margin of 8566 votes.

While 87050 votes were received by Nikhil Banerjee, the CPM candidate got 78484 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Lakshman Ghorui who received just 7449 votes and fell into the category of also-ran. Congress did not contest the seat as it was in alliance with the TMC at that time.

CPM’s Mrinal Banerjee had also won Durgapur II, the earlier avatar of Durgapur Purba, in 1996, 2001 and 2006.

The urban constituency of Durgapur Purba is composed of wards 1 – 10 and 23 – 28 of Durgapur Municipal Corporation as well as Gopalpur, Amlajora and Molandighi gram panchayats of Kanksa block.

One of the twenty five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Durgapur Purba is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bardhaman-Durgapur parliamentary constituency.

Of a total number of 209944 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Durgapur Purba, there were 114272 males and 95672 females.

Durgapur Purba Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found