Durgapur Paschim Assembly Elections 2016

The support base of CPM has considerably eroded since its defeat in 2011 from Durgapur Paschim which has been its stronghold for decades. The part has not been able to take advantage of the voters’ disenchantment with the TMC. BJP has influence in some pockets of the constituency is not a serious player here.

Durgapur Paschim Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Bishwanath Parial INC Won
Apurba Mukherjee AITC 63709
Kalyan Dubey BJP 18313
None of the Above None of the Above 3879
Shyamali Banerjee (Roy Chowdhury) SUCI(C) 1917
Sandip Sarkar BSP 1506
Kanai Dutta IND 839
Atul Chandra Bauri BMP 679

Currently Durgapur Paschim is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC’s Apurba Mukherjee who won the seat in 2011 by defeating CPM’s Biprendu Chakraborty by a good margin of 17006 votes.

While 92454 votes were received by Apurba Mukherjee, the CPM candidate got 75448 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Kalyan Dubey who received just 5,434 votes and fell into the category of also-ran. Congress did not contest the seat as it was in alliance with the TMC at that time.

Apurba Mukherjee had also won Durgapur I, the earlier avatar of Durgapur Paschim, in 2001. CPM’s Tarun Chatterje had emerged victorious from Durgapur four times in a row from 1977.

The urban constituency of Durgapur Paschim is composed of ward 11 to 22 and 29 to 43 of Durgapur Municipal Corporation.

One of the twenty five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Durgapur Paschim is one of the seven assembly segments in the Bardhaman-Durgapur parliamentary constituency.

Of a total number of 209944 electors eligible to cast their votes in the 2011 assembly election to Durgapur Paschim, there were 114272 males and 95672 females.

Durgapur Paschim Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found