Dhanekhali Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is on strong wicket in Dhanekhali assembly constituency. Out of the total 18 assembly seats in the Hooghly district, while the Left Front managed to win only two seats, the Congress-Trinamool combine secured the rest of the constituencies. Since BJP does not have much of a presence in Dhaniakhali, the coming 2016 election to the seat will witness bipolar contest between TMC and Forward Bloc.

Dhaniakhali Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Asima Patra AITC Won
Pradip Majumdar AIFB 66654
Sasthi Duley BJP 16338
None of the Above None of the Above 3709
Ashis Halder IND 2558
Sajal Kumar De CPI(ML)(L) 1754
Pallab Bag JDP 1439

Dhanekhali assembly seat is currently held by the TMC MLA Ashima Patra who wrested it from the CPM by defeating its nominee Shrabani Sarkar by a comfortable margin of 16277 votes in 2011.

Barring 2011, the Forward Block had been winning all the assembly elections to Dhanekhali since 1977. While Kripa Sindhu Saha represented the seat from 1977 to 2006, Ajit Patra was elected in 2006.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Dhanekhali is one of eighteen assembly segments in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. The assembly constituency is formed by Bhastara, Belmuri, Gurap, Dashghara -1, Dashghara -2, Dhanekhali -1, Dhaniakhali-2, Gurbari -1, Gurbari-2I, Mandra, Khajurdaha Milki, Somaspur-1I and Somaspur -2 gram panchayats of Dhanekhali block as well as Dadpur, Babnan, Satithan and Makalpur gram panchayats of Polba-Dadpur block.

Dhanekhali is one of the seven assembly segments in the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency. Singur, Chandannagar, Chunchura, Balagarh, Pandua and Saptagram are other six assembly constituencies within Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency

In 2011 assembly election to Dhaniakhali, the constituency had 222562 voters, out of whom 112661 are males and 109901 are females.

Dhanekhali Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found