Daspur Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress is losing its grip among the voters of Daspur assembly constituency since its win in 2011, the state of CPM is not satisfactory. The latter is not able to present itself as a credible alternative. The rise of BJP is also worrying the CPM as the former has the potential of eating into the latter’s votes.An alliance with the Congress may come to the rescue of the CPM.

Daspur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mamata Bhunia AITC Won
Swapan Santra CPM 84864
Dipak Kumar Pramanik BJP 12626
None of the Above None of the Above 2104
Madhusudan Manna SUCI(C) 1899

Mamata Bhuniais the sitting TMC MLA of Daspur which she won in 2012 in a bye-poll to the seat by defeating her nearest CPM rival Samar Mukherjee by 18,928 votes. The bye-election was necessitated due to the death of then sitting TMC MLA Ajit Bhunia.Ajit Bhunia, husband of Mamata Bhunia, had emerged victorious from the seat in 2011 by defeating the then CPM legislator Sunil Adhikari by a margin of 24927 votes.

Earlier while Sunil Adhikari had won the Daspur assembly seat in 2001, Sunil Adhikari had claimed the seat in 2006.

One of the nineteen assembly constituencies located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Daspur is formed by the areas covered by Daspur – 2 block as well as Daspur I, Basudevpur, Daspur II, Nandanpur I, Panchberia and Nandanpur II gram panchayats of Daspur -1 block

Daspur is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Ghatal. Debra, Sabang, Panskura Paschim, Pingla and Keshpur are other six assembly constituencies within the Ghatal Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Daspur, a total number of 242616 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, were 124920 male voters and the rest were females whose number stood at 117696.

Daspur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found