Darjeeling Assembly Elections 2016

A bastion of the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM), Darjeeling assembly segment has given the BJP lead in 2014 parliamentary polls. BJP had the support of the GJM in that election. GJM is in favour of a separate state of Gorkhaland in West Bengal, GJM will win the seat in the coming 2016 assembly elections in the state

Darjeeling Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Amar Singh Rai GJM Won
Sarda Rai Subba AITC 45473
Govind Chettri IND 8982
None of the Above None of the Above 5817
Ashok Kumar Lepcha GRC 3716

Darjeeling is currently held by GJM MLA Trilok Dewan who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Bim Subba of Gorkha National Libertaipn Front (GNLF) by a massive margin of 101675 votes. In that election, while Trilok Dewan polled 78.50 per cent of the votes to get 120532 votes, the GNLF candidate received only 13997 votes. Apart from Darjeeling, GJM has won other two seats in West Bengal in 2011. Trilok Dewan had resigned from both the Assembly and GJM.

Earlier GNLF candidates had been elected from the seat in 1996, 2006 and 2001.

Located in the district of the same name, Darjeeling assembly constituency is composed of Darjeeling municipality, Darjeeling Pulbazar block and Dhootria Kalej Valley, Sukhia-Simana, Ghum Khasmahal, Rangbhang Gopaldhara, Lingia Maraybong, Pokhriabong I, Pokhriabong II, Pokhriabong III, Permaguri Plungdung, Tamsang and Rangbull gram panchayats of Jorebunglow Sukhiapokhri block.

In the last assembly election to this seat in 2011, there were 217964 electors out of whom 110125 were males and 107839 were female voters.

Darjeeling is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. Darjeeling Lok Sabha seat is one of two won by BJP in West Bengal in 2014.

Darjeeling Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found