Coochbehar Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

Though the fight is between Forward Block and Trinamool Congress, the BJP, which had received just 4.19 percent of the votes in this assembly constituency in 2011, has become a force to reckon with. Forward Block, which is currently representing the seat, has lost ground due to switching of its supporters to TMC. To sum up TMC holds an edge in the Cooch Behar Dakshin assembly constituency.

Coochbehar Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mihir Goswami AITC Won
Debasis Banik AIFB 64654
Nikhil Ranjan Dey BJP 18176
Maya Majumder BSP 5197
Amita Das AMB 2703
None of the Above None of the Above 2489
Nazma Khandakar SUCI(C) 1678
Akik Hossain Chowdhury KPP(U) 1427

Akshay Thakur is the sitting Forward Block MLA of Cooch Behar Dakshin which was won by him in the last assembly election in 2011 by defeating TMC Abdul Jalil Ahmed by 2863 votes. In that election while Akshay Thakur, who had earlier won the erstwhile Cooch Behar West assembly seat in 2001 and 2006, received 72028 votes, Abdul Jalil Ahmed polled 69165 votes to emerge runner-up. BJP‘s Gayetri Kar was relegated to the third place with just 6419 votes.

One of the nine assembly constituencies located in the Cooch Behar district of West Bengal, Cooch Behar Dakshin (South) is composed of Cooch Behar municipality and Chilkirhat, Chandamari, Falimari, Haribhanga, Ghughumari, Moyamari, Putimari Fuleswari, Patchhara and Sutkabari gram panchayats of Cooch Behar I block.

According to the data released by the Election Commission of India in 2014, Natabari has a total of 2 01229 electors eligible to cast their votes to elect their representatives from the seat. Of them, 104636 are male voters and 96,592 were women voters.

Cooch Behar Dakshin (South) is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the parliamentary constituency of Cooch Behar.

Coochbehar Dakshin Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found