Chhatna Assembly Elections 2016

The combined vote shares of the Left and the Congress achieved by them in the Chatna assembly in 2014 Lok Sabha polls exceeds that of Trinamool Congress. Hence if an alliance between the former two takes place as is being talked about, the chances of TMC are diminished for this seat. However, elections are not always about arithmetic. With the rise of BJP, the coming 2016 election to Chatna is equally poised for both Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and TMC.

Chhatna Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dhirendra Nath Layek RSP Won
Subhasis Batabyal AITC 71231
Swapan Mukherjee BJP 13287
None of the Above None of the Above 7709
Bankim Mishra IND 3339
Sadananda Mandal SUCI(C) 3145
Manik Bouri BSP 1661
Satyaban Bauri JMM 1585
Uttam Kundu BMP 1476
Ramnibas Baskey CPI(ML)(L) 1153
Panmani Besra JDP 835

Currently, Chhatna is represented by TMC whose member Subhasis Batabyal wrested the seat from the RSP by defeating its then sitting MLA Anath Bandhu Mondal by a comfortable margin of 7764 votes in a bipolar contest. While Subhasis Batabyal secured 70340 votes, 62576 votes were polled by Anath Bandhu Mondal. All the other contestants including Rabindranath Mandal of BJP were far behind the duo and forfeited their deposits.

Earlier, Anath Bandhu Mondal had won Chhatna in 2006. RSP’s Subhas Goswami had been elected from the seat six times in a row since 1977.

Chhatna is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Bankura district of West Bengal. This rural constituency is formed by the areas covered by Chhatna block as well as Brahmandiha, Veduasol, Hatgram, Raghunathpur and Indpur gram panchayats of Indpur block.

Chhatna is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Bankura parliamentary constituency. In the 2011 assembly election to Chhatna, there was a total electorate of 194715. Of them, 101171 were males and the rest were female voters whose number stood at 93544.

Chhatna Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found