Chapra Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress is on a firm wicket in Chapra assembly constituency, the Left Front may spring a surprise if the minorities decide to back it. The BJP is also a competitive force thanks to the clout enjoyed by its leader Satyabrata Mookherjee in Krishnanagar parliamentary constituency of which Chapra is a part.

Chapra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rukbanur Rahman AITC Won
Shamsul Islam Mollah CPM 76093
Sutirtha Chakraborty(Chuni) BJP 14887
Samaresh Biswas SHS 4081
None of the Above None of the Above 1894
Dhananjay Ganguly CPI(ML)(L) 884

TMC's Rukbanur Rahaman is the sitting MLA of Chapra which he wrested from CPM in 2011 by defeating CPMs Samsul Islam Mollah by a margin of 2633 votes in a bipolar fight. While 77435 votes were polled in favour of Rukbanur Rahaman, the CPM candidate got 74802 votes and was followed by BJPs Baidyanath Biswas who got 7,078 votes.

Earlier Chapra was represented in the West Bengal legislative assembly from 1977 to 2011. While its candidate Sahabauddin Mondal emerged victorious in 1977 and 1982, Mir Qusem claimed the seat in 1987, 1991 and 1996. Shamsul Islam Mollah was elected in 2001 and 2006.

One of the seventeen assembly constituencies located in the Nadia district of west Bengal, Chapra assembly constituency is constituted by the area covered by Chapra block.

The minority dominated Chapra is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Krishnanagar parliamentary constituency which is currently represented in the Lok Sabha by TMCs Tapas Paul.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Chapra, there was a total electorate of 186756. Out of the total electors, 98071 were males and 88685 were females.

Chapra Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found