Chandipur Assembly Elections 2016

Though CPM is on a sticky wicket in Chandipur assembly constituency, Trinamool Congress is also faced with factionalism. The rivalry between TMC leaders Sisir Adhikari and Akhil Giri is out in the open. The sitting TMC Chandipur MLA Amiya Bhattacharya belongs to faction led by Akhil Giri, who also happens to be the current Ramnagar TMC MLA. While the BJP has not much of a presence, the Congress is a non-entity in Chandipur.

Chandipur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Amiyakanti Bhattacharjee AITC Won
Mangal Chand Pradhan CPM 86328
Pijush Das BJP 10160
None of the Above None of the Above 1414
Biswanath Ghorai BSP 1274
Sukumar Pandit BNP 1224
Sk. Mahammad Idrish Ali IND 718
Swapan Kumar Bhowmik SUCI(C) 701

Chandipur is currently held by Amiya Bhattacharya who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the TMC by defeating his nearest CPM Bidyut Guchhait by a margin of 11709 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election, while Amiya Bhattacharya received 88010 votes, 76301 votes were polled in favour of the CPM nominee who was followed by BJP’s Chanchal Maiti who secured just 5,149 votes and lost his deposit.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal, Chandipur is formed by areas covered by Chandipur block as well as Bivisanpur, Benodia, Gurgram, Mahammadpur I, Kakra and Mahammadpur II gram panchayats of Bhagabanpur- 1 block.

Chandipur, which came into being before 2011 assembly elections on the recommendation of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Lok Sabha constituency of Kanthi.

In the 2011 assembly election to Chandipur, there was a total electorate of 188758. Out of the total electors, 98628 were males and 90130 were females.

Chandipur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found