Chandannagar Assembly Elections 2016

In 2015, TMC has won the elections to Chandannagar Municipal Corporation and Bhadreswar municipality which are parts of the Chandannagar assembly constituency. The party which won the assembly seat in 2011 continues to hold its dominance as the CPM is still not able to gain the confidence of the people. The BJP is also a force to reckon with in some pockets of the constituency. In all upcoming assembly polls, Chandannagar will witness bipolar contest between TMC and CPM.

Chandannagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Indranil Sen AITC Won
Goutam Sarkar CPM 73613
Tandra Bhattacharjee BJP 13233
None of the Above None of the Above 3853
Gautam Sarkar IND 1477
Milan Rakshit SUCI(C) 1002

TMC’s Ashoke Kumar Shaw won Chandannagar in 2011 by defeating the then sitting CPM MLA Sibaprasad Banerjee by a massive margin of 43039 votes in a bipolar contest. While 96430 were polled by Ashoke Kumar Shaw, Sibaprasad Banerjee secured 64,828 votes and was followed by BJP’s Satya Bhusan Pathak who got 5,109 votes.

Earlier Sibaprasad Banerjee was elected the seat in 2006. Kamal Mukherjee of Congress had won the seat in 1996 and 2001 even during the hey-days of Left Front.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency, Chandannagar is one of the 18 assembly constituencies located in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Chandannagar municipal corporation and Bhadreswar municipality.

Chandannagar is one of the seven assembly segments falling within the parliamentary constituency of Hooghly.

In 2011 assembly election to Chandannagar, the constituency has a total electorate of 200388, out of which 104641 were male voters and 95747 were female voters.

Chandannagar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found