Chakulia Assembly Elections 2016

The chance of a four-way contest looms large in the coming assembly poll to Chakulia, if the Congress does not form alliance with either the Left or the Trinamool. BJP is buoyed by its performance in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls when its candidate edged past the TMC candidate from the Raiganj parliamentary constituency of which Chakulia is a part. Forward Block, one of the constituents of the Left, seem to have an edge.

Chakulia Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ali Imran Ramz AIFB Won
Ashim Kumar Mridha BJP 36656
Alema Noorie AITC 36198
Goutam Chandra Paul BSP 8719
Mir Masud Alam SP 1839
None of the Above None of the Above 1613
Rafikul Alam IND 1290

Chakulia assembly seat is currently held by Ali Imran Ramz of Forward Block. In 2011 he had retained the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Serajul Islam by a handsome margin of 201413 votes in a bipolar contest. While Ali Imran polled 65,265 votes, 44,852 votes were polled in favour of the Congress nominee who was supported by TMC. Ali Imran entered the assembly first time in 2009 when he was elected in a bye-election from Goalpokhar which was won by his father Ramzan Ali four times on behalf of Forward Block.

One of the 9 assembly constituencies located in the Uttar Dinajpur district of West Bengal, Chakulia is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Raiganj parliamentary constituency. Chakulia, which came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is composed of Goalpokhar -2 block, and Bazargaon I and Bazargaon II gram panchayats of Karandighi block.

According to figures released by Election Commission of India in 2014, Chakulia has a total electorate of 1,90,137. Of them, 98,005 were male voters and 92,129 were women.

Chakulia Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found