Canning Purba Assembly Elections 2016

Once a stronghold of the CPM, the Trinamool Congress has consolidated its position in the Canning Purba (East) assembly constituency and is on a strong wicket to win the seat. The joining of sitting CPM MLA Abdur Razzak Molla into the TMC is the added advantage. What favours the TMC is the complete disarray of the opposition parties.

Canning Purba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Saokat Molla AITC Won
Ajijer Rahaman Molla CPM 60230
Sudarshan Goswami BJP 12293
None of the Above None of the Above 3193
Sujit Naskar SUCI(C) 2548

Abdur Razzak Molla, a former minister in the Left Front government, won Canning Purba for the eighth time in a row in 2011 by defeating Ibrahim Molla of the Congers by 21113 votes. In that election, while Abdur Razzak Molla polled 85105 votes, the Congress nominee received 63992 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ghanasyam Mondal who got just 3,503 votes.

Abdur Razzak Molla has been winging the Canning East assembly seat since 1977. He is one of the 59 Muslim candidates who were elected to the legislative assembly of west Bengal in 2011.

Canning Purba is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Jayanagar parliamentary constituency. Other six assembly segments in the parliamentary constituency are Gosaba, Basanti, Kultali, Jaynagar, Canning Paschim and Magrahat Purba.

This predominantly rural Assembly seat in South 24-Parganas is formed by the areas covered by Deuli I, Deuli II, Matherdighi, Kalikatala, Tambuldaha I, Tambuldaha II and Sarengabad, gram panchayats of Canning- 2 block and Chandaneswar I, Chandaneswar II, Bodra, Durgapur, Tarda and Shanksahar gram panchayats of Bhangar - 1 block.

In the 2011 assembly election to Canning Purba, there was a total electorate of 173009. Of them, 91146 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 81863.

Canning Purba Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found