Canning Paschim Assembly Elections 2016

Once a bastion of the Left Front, Canning Paschim now seems to be backing the Trinamool Congress which wrested the seat from the CPM in 2011. The weakening of the opposition parties would be beneficial for the TMC. However, the alliance between the Congress and the Left parties is scaring the TMC. BJP will try to make the contest triangular.

Canning Paschim Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shyamal Mondal AITC Won
Arnab Roy INC 74772
Manojit Mondal BJP 12664
Ramprasad Mistry SUCI(C) 3980
None of the Above None of the Above 2461
Swadesh Sanfui BSP 1827
Debasis Sani IND 1315

Shyamal Mondal, a former minister in the Mamata government, won the Canning Paschim assembly seat in 2011 by defeating of Joydeb Purkait the CPM by 19614 votes. In that election, while Shyamal Mondal polled 81,736 votes, the CPM nominee received 62,122 votes and was followed by BJP’s Manojit Mondal who got just 6,108 votes.

Earlier Gobinda Naskar, former West Bengal minister, had been elected from the Canning West in 1987 and 2001. While his win in 1987 came as a candidate of the Congress, he won in 2001 on behalf of the TMC. In 2006, he lost to Dwijapada Mondal of the CPM.

Canning Paschim is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Jayanagar parliamentary constituency. Other six assembly segments in the parliamentary constituency are Canning Purba, Gosaba, Basanti, Kultali, Jaynagar and Magrahat Purba.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, this predominantly rural Assembly seat in South 24-Parganas is formed by the areas covered by Canning-1 and Narayanpur gram panchayat of Canning-2 block.

In the 2011 assembly election to Canning Paschim, there was a total electorate of 177849. Of them, 92259 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 85590.

Canning Paschim Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found