Budge Budge Assembly Elections 2016

Budge Budge municipality, a part of its same named assembly constituency, was won by TMC in 2015. The TMC’s Diamond Harbor Lok Sabha MP led from Budge Budge Assembly segment by less than 10000 votes in 2014. This was however a steep decline from the party’s victory margin of a whopping 46489 votes in 2011. Added to this, if the tie-up between CPM and Congress for the coming assembly elections becomes a reality, the TMC may lose its edge. However, the presence of BJP may upset the calculations of other parties.

Budge Budge Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ashok Kumar Deb AITC Won
Sk. Mujibar Rahaman INC 76899
Uma Shankar Ghosh Dastidar BJP 20778
Ali Basir Sk. WPI 1907
Kajal Dutta CPI(ML)R 1250
Rabindranath Ranjan BSP 1231
Tamradhwaj Adak SUCI(C) 797
Rup Kumar Adak IND 715

Budge Budge is presently held by TMC’s Ashok Kumar Deb who won the seat fourth time in a row in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Hrisikesh Poddar by a huge margin of 46489 votes in a bipolar contest. While Ashok Kumar Deb secured 99915 votes, the CPM nomine got 53426 and was distantly followed by BJP’s Ariful Islam who managed to get only 6,256 votes. Earlier, Ashok Kumar Deb had also won the Budge Budge assembly seat in 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Located in the South 24-Parganas district of West Bengal, Budge Budge is formed by the areas covered by the municipalities of Budge Budge and Pujali, Budge Budge block, and North Baoyali, Kasipur Alampur, Dongaria Raipur and South Baoyali gram panchayats of Budge Budge – 2 block.

The semi-urban constituency of Budge Budge is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Diamond Harbor parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Budge Budge, the constituency had an electorate of 199778. Of them, 106397 were males and 93381 were female voters.

Budge Budge Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found