Bolpur Assembly Elections 2016

Since the sitting Congress MLA Asit Kumar Mal is now with TMC, the latter enjoys the edge in the Bolpur constituency. The switch has dealt a severe blow to the Congress which has been wining the seat since 1996. The main opposition party in the Bolpur assembly constituency is Revolutionary Communist Party of India (RCPI), a constituent of the Left Front in West Bengal. All the four mainstream parties including BJP are equally poised to emerge victorious.

Bolpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Chandranath Sinha AITC Won
Tapan Hore RSP 63231
Dilip Ghosh BJP 19553
Mangal Mardi IND 1752
Das Suresh BSP 1573
Sekh Matiur Rahaman MPI 948
Samarjit Barman SUCI(C) 832
Md Saddakkas JD(S) 802

Five time MLA Asit Mal won Bolpur fourth time in a row in 2011 by defeating Kamal Hasan of RCPI by a handsome margin of 26452 votes. This was despite the presence of rebel Congress leader in the fray in the form of Sheikh Aftabuddin who received significant 27,461 votes and came third. On the other hand, Asit Mal and RCPI nominee got 73,370 and 46,918 votes. Ruparani Mondal of BJP was relegated to the fourth place with just 3,373 votes.

Earlier, Asit Mal was elected from Bolpur assembly seat in 1987, 1996, 2001 and 2006.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Bolpur is one of the eleven assembly constituencies located in the Birbhum district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by the blocks of Rampurhat-2 and Nalhati-2

Bolpur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Birbhum parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Bolpur, there was a total electorate of 181254. Out of the total electors, 94814 were males and 86440 were females.

Bolpur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found