Bishnupur Sc Assembly Elections 2016

The winds of change that were raging across West Bengal in 2011 seem to have weakened in Bishnupur assembly seat. This is evident from the fact that the TMC Lok Sabha candidate led from this assembly segment in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by less than 10000 votes whereas its victory margin in 2011 was more than 25000. The coming 2016 assembly election to Bishnupur will see a keen contest between the Left and Trinamool Congress. It is too close a call in Bishnupur. The presence of BJP as a force to reckon with in some pockets of the constituency can be crucial to the poll outcome.

Bishnupur Sc Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dilip Mondal AITC Won
Aloke Sardar CPM 76499
Shyamaprasad Halder BJP 14264
Dipankar Gayen BSP 1594
Samar Kr. Biswas IND 1502
Uttam Kumar Halder PDS 1203

Currently, Bishnupur is held TMC’s Dilip Mondal who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Sudhin Sinha by an impressive margin 25050 votes in a two-sided affair. In that election, while Dilip Mondal secured 95912 votes, the CPM candidate polled 70862 votes and was followed by BJP’s Sekhar Naskar who received 5,745 votes.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Bishnupur is located in the South 24-Parganas district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Bishnupur-1 block as well as Asuti I, Asuti II, Raspunja and Chatta gram panchayats of Thakurpukur Mahestola block.

Bishnupur, which came into being before 2011, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary constituency of the same name.

In the 2011 assembly election to Bishnupur, the constituency had an electorate of 210599. Of them, 111286 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 99313.

Bishnupur Sc Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found