Bidhannagar Assembly Elections 2016

One of the surprises in the 2014 Lok Sabha in West Bengal took place when the BJP candidate of Barasat Lok Sabha seat, P. C. Sorcar, Jr. led by 6,489 votes over TMC’s Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar from this assembly segment which in 2011 had TMC’s Sujit Bose who had polled 59.53 percent at that time. In 2011, the BJP had polled only 3.95 percent. Since the party lacks the organization strength of the TMC, it would be a difficult task for the party to win the seat.

Bidhannagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sujit Bose AITC Won
Arunava Ghosh INC 59142
Susanta Ranjan Pal BJP 21735
Ranjan Majumder BSP 1163
Ananda Chanda SHS 897
Manmohan Garodia IND 771
Tarun Kumar Das SUCI(C) 533
Palash Biswas IND 379
Kunal Majumder IND 298

Sujit Bose is the sitting Trinamool Congress MLA of Bidhannagar assembly seat which he won by defeating his nearest CPM rival Palash Das by a huge margin of 35925 votes in 2011. In that election, while Sujit Bose polled 88642 votes, the CPM nominee received 52717 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ashoke Sarkar who got 5,877 votes.

Located in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Bidhannagar assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Number 28-41 of Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation and Ward Nos. 19, 20 and 28 to 35 of South Dum Dum municipality.

Bidhannagar assembly constituency, which came into being before the 2011 assembly elections, is inhabited by the urban population. It is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Barasat.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Bidhannagar assembly constituency has a total electorate of 200265, out of which 101399 are male voters and 98866 are females.

Bidhannagar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found